Pirmin Grehl Image Source: Simon Heydorn

Pentecost concert

Hambacher Schloss, Festsaal

Pirmin Grehl studied in Karlsruhe and Berlin with Renate Greiss-Armin and Jacques Zoon. He won several national and international music competitions, like e.g. the first prize at the 2002 International Carl Nielsen Flute Competition in Odense (Denmark) and both the second prize and the Busch Brothers’ Prize at the 2004 International Music Competition of the ARD (Munich, Germany). In 2006, he once again succeeded at the ARD competition with his woodwind quintet Chantilly (second prize, audience prize and prize for the commissioned composition). 

From 2002 until 2017, he was a solo flutist of the Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin, as well as guest 
solo flutist with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and several great German Radio Symphony 

As a soloist, Pirmin Grehl has performed with orchestras like the Bavarian State Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Berlin Symphony Orchestra, the Kaiserslautern Radio Orchestra, the Rhineland Philharmonic Orchestra Koblenz and the Jena Philharmonics. In 2006 he gave his Japan debut as a soloist with the New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra at the Tokyo Suntory Hall. He has also played numerous solo concerts with chamber orchestras such as the Berlin Chamber Orchestra, the Potsdam Chamber Academy, the Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Kurpfalz Chamber Orchestra. 

Pirmin Grehl has made recordings for several radio and television stations. He has been invited to renowned festival such as Lockenhaus, Rheingau Music Festival, or the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. 

His CDs have been published by the Naxos, NEOS and Profil Edition labels. He has been awarded the French record prize Diapason d’Or in 2009. 

After several years of teaching at the Berlin Hochschule für Musik, he has been a professor at the Musikhochschule Luzern since 2010, as well as at the Musikhochschule Karlsruhe since 2017. 

20. Mai 2024
Montag 17:00 Uhr

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809–1847)
Streichersinfonie Nr. 8 D-Dur

Saverio Mercadante (1795–1870)
Flötenkonzert Nr. 2 e-Moll op. 57

Robert Fuchs (1847–1927)
Streicherserenade Nr. 1 D-Dur